Send Your Query





History : Practice Quiz 16 For Civil Service Examinations 2018 (UPSC Prelims 2018)
                                                                                                    August 27, 2017

History: National Movement 3

The British Governor General, who formulated the policy of Subsidiary Alliance with regard to Indian powers was
(a) Lord Wellesley
(b) Lord William Bentick
(c) Warren Hastings
(d) Lord Dalhousie
Answer: Lord Wellesley

Where did Mahatma Gandhi first try the weapon of Satyagraha ?
(a) South Africa
(b) Dandi
(c) Champaran
(d) Bardoli
Answer: South Africa

The first main British Parliament Act regarding East India Company's administration in India was
(a) Rowlatt Act
(b) Pitts India Act
(c) Charter Act of 1913
(d) Regulation Act
Answer: Regulation Act

Who was the first Indian to become the member of British Parliament ?
(a) D.N. Wacha
(b) Dadabhai Naoroji
(c) Badruddin Tyabji
(d) W.C. Banerjee
Answer: Dadabhai Naoroji

Who conceived the idea of Pakistan ?
(a) Mohd. Ali Jinnah
(b) H.S. Suharwardhy
(c) Chlowdhary Rahmat Ali
(d) Asaf Ali
Answer: Chlowdhary Rahmat Ali

Which one of the following is not correctly matched ?
(a) Lord Rippon-Local Self Government
(b) Thomas Munro-Ryotwari System
(c) Holt Mackenzie-Mahalwari Settlement in Northern India
(d) Lord Cornwallis-Subsidiary System
Answer: Lord Cornwallis-Subsidiary System

Gandhiji started Satyagraha movement in 1919 in protest against the
(a) Simon Commission
(b) Colonial exploitation of India
(c) Champaran wrongs
(d) Enactment of Rowlatt Act
Answer: Enactment of Rowlatt Act

Satyagraha Ashram was established by who among the following ?
(a) Lokanayak Jayaprakash Narayan
(b) Acharya Vinoba Bhave
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) Acharya Kripalani
Answer: Mahatma Gandhi

Who was the founder of the Muslim League in India ?
(a) Nawab Salimulla
(b) None of these
(c) Sir Syed Ahmad Khan
(d) M.A. Jinnah
Answer: Nawab Salimulla

Who was the Governor General of India when the Indian National Congress was formed ?
(a) Lord Cornwallis
(b) Lord Mountbatten
(c) Lord Lytton
(d) Lord Dufferin
Answer: Lord Dufferin

Regarding the freedom struggle, which of the following events is/are not true ?
(a) Morley-Minto reforms granted Muslim demands in 1909.
(b) Transfer of India's capital from Calcutta to Delhi was announced in 1910.
(c) Muslim League was founded in 1907.
(d) The partition of Bengal was done in 1905
Answer: Muslim League was founded in 1907.

Which was the first newspaper to be published in India ?
(a) Bengal Chronicle
(b) The Hindu
(c) Bengal Gazette
(d) Bombay Samachar
Answer: Bengal Gazette

Uplift of the backward classes was the main programme of the
(a) Prarythana Samaj
(b) Ramakrishna Mission
(c) Arya Samaj
(d) Satyashodhak Samaj
Answer: Satyashodhak Samaj

Permanent Revenue System of Lord Cornwallis proved oppressive to the tenants because they were
(a) Asked to pay under military pressure
(b) Exploited by the zamindars
(c) Forced to produce more
(d) Asked to pay yearly revenue in advance
Answer: Exploited by the zamindars

Legalisation of widow remarriage in India was first secured by
(a) Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar
(b) Maharishi Karve
(c) Pandit Ramabai
(d) K. Natarajan
Answer: Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar

The Doctrine of Lapse was introduced by
(a) Warren Hastings
(b) Lord Dalhousie
(c) Lord Canning
(d) Lord Wellesley
Answer: Lord Wellesley

Who among the following analysed the cause of the uprising of 1857 advocating a reconciliation between the British and the Muslims ?
(a) Syed Ahmed Bardvi
(b) Shah Wali-Ullah
(c) Syed Ahmed Khan
(d) Syed Amir Ali
Answer: Syed Ahmed Khan

During the British rule, first partition of Bengal was done in
(a) 1903
(b) 1908
(c) 1905
(d) 1885
Answer: 1905

The British law which provoked Mahatma Gandhi to crusade for the Asians in South Africa was called
(a) The Apartheid Act
(b) The Asiatic Registration Act
(c) The Blacks Registration Act
(d) The Coloured's Licence Act
Answer: The Asiatic Registration Act

When did the British Parliament pass the Indian Independence Bill ?
(a) 17393
(b) 17349
(c) 17218
(d) 17250
Answer: 17349

Vallabhbhai Patel was born at

(a) Borsad
(b) Nadiad
(c) Ahmedabad
(d) Baroda
Answer: Nadiad

The founder of Boy Scouts and Civil Guides Movement in India was
(a) Robert Montgomery
(b) Baden Powell
(c) Charles Andrews
(d) Richard Temple
Answer: Baden Powell

The Rowlatt Act led to
(a) Economic reforms in U.P.
(b) Massacre at Amritsar
(c) Communal riots in Bengal
(d) Social legislation in Madras
Answer: Massacre at Amritsar

In 1917, at Champaran, the government forced farmers to undertake
(a) Opium cultivation
(b) Land ceiling
(c) Indigo cultivation
(d) Hallow cultivation
Answer: Indigo cultivation

The first session of Indian National Congress was held at
(a) Surat
(b) Lahore
(c) Calcutta
(d) Bombay
Answer: Bombay

Woods Despatch of 1854 resulted in the
(a) Establishment of educational system
(b) Establishment of Indian universities
(c) Introduction of Postal System
(d) Abolition of child marriage
Answer: Establishment of educational system

The English Weekly edited by Mahatma Gandhi was
(a) Young India
(b) Bombay Chronicle
(c) Kesari
(d) Comrade
Answer: Young India

The first railway started in India under the Governor-Generalship of
(a) Lord Dalhousie
(b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Lord Canning
(d) Lord Hastings
Answer: Lord Dalhousie

The Act which imparted provincial autonomy is
(a) Government of India Act, 1919
(b) Indian Independence Act, 1947
(c) Government of India Act, 1935
(d) Indian Councils Act, 1909
Answer: Government of India Act, 1935

Indian sepoys in the Bengal army revolted because
(a) The British tried to make them use the greased catridges.
(b) The British passed the General Service Enlistment Act.
(c) The British officers ill-treated them.
(d) The British discontinued the payment of field allowance.
Answer: The British tried to make them use the greased

From where did Mahatma Gandhi start his historic Dandi March ?

(a) Chauri Chaura
(b) Dandi
(c) Sabarmati Ashram
(d) Champaran
Answer: Sabarmati Ashram

Quit India Movement started after the failure of
(a) Cripps proposal
(b) None of these
(c) Simon recommendation
(d) Cabinet Mission
Answer: Cripps proposal

The practice of Sati was declared illegal by
(a) Lord Ripon
(b) Raja Rammohan Roy
(c) Lord Cornwallis
(d) Lord William Bentick
Answer: Lord William Bentick

Except Jammu and Kashmir and Hyderabad, the integration of Indian states was completed in
(a) 17807
(b) 18598
(c) 18203
(d) 17380
Answer: 18203

Who among the following could not be captured by the British in 1857 ?
(a) Nana Saheb
(b) Tantia Tope
(c) Bahadur Shah II
(d) Mangal Pandey
Answer: Nana Saheb

The Simon Commission was concerned with

(a) Famines
(b) Constitutional reforms
(c) Higher education
(d) Reforms in princely states
Answer: Constitutional reforms

The Vernacular Press Act 1878 was repealed by
(a) Lord Lytton
(b) Lord Ripon
(c) Lord Minto
(d) Lord Curzon
Answer: Lord Ripon

The first national leader to attack the Salt Tax in Indian Legislature was
(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Pherozeshah Mehta
(c) Dadabhai Naoroji
(d) G.K. Gokhale
Answer: G.K. Gokhale

The Indian states that were annexed by invokingthe Doctrine of Lapse included
(a) Mysore, Satara and Bhavnagar
(b) Jhansi, Nagpur and Satara
(c) Jhansi, Nagpur and Travancore
(d) Jhansi, Satara and Mysore
Answer: Jhansi, Nagpur and Satara

The Congress split into moderates and extremists in the session at
(a) Surat
(b) Lucknow
(c) Ahmedabad
(d) Madras
Answer: Surat