Guinea ratifies International Solar Alliance Framework Agreement
November 8, 2017

The Republic of Guinea on 6 November 2017 ratified the International Solar Alliance (ISA) Framework Agreement. 

The instrument of ratification was handed over to External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj by Guinea’s Foreign Minister Mamady Toure, who was on his 4 day visit to India from 3-6 November 2017.

With this, Guinea became the 15th country to ratify the agreement. The other 14 countries are India, Bangladesh, Comoros, Fiji, France, Ghana, Mauritius, Nauru, Niger, Mali, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan and Tuvalu.

With the ratification of ISA pact by 15 countries, ISA will now be an international legal body. The ISA framework agreement shall enter into force on 6 December 2017, that is the thirtieth day after the date of deposit of the relevant instrument.

About International Solar Alliance Pact

• The International Solar Alliance was launched jointly by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and French President Francois Hollande on the first day of the COP-21 summit at Paris in 2015.
• Headquartered in India, the alliance was conceived as a coalition of solar resource rich countries to collaborate on meeting their energy needs through a common and agreed approach.
• The alliance will become a legal entity once at least 15 countries ratify and deposit the framework agreement.
• Till now, the total number of signatories to ISA framework agreement has reached 31.